Close this search box.



St. Benilde, Perpetual spikers extend dynastic reign in NCAA


MANILA: College of St. Benilde and University of Perpetual Help stamped their class over Letran and Emilio Aguinaldo College, respectively, to rule NCAA Season 99 volleyball and stretch their dynastic reigns before a full-house FilOil EcoOil Centre in San Juan City on Sunday The Lady Blazers smashed the Lady Knights, 25-18, 25-17, 25-18, to carve out a third 11-game title sweep while the Altas bested the Generals, 25-18, 25-17, 25-18, to snare a four-peat. CSB also extended its impressive streak to 40 straight victories that included seven in the pandemic-cut 2020 season. Jefferson Marapoc pounded in 18 points while repeat season Most Valuable Player (MVP) Louie Ramirez and Michael Medalla scattered 14 and 13 hits, respectively, as the Altas wrapped up the series in two games and completed an 11-game season sweep. Marapoc was eventually named Finals MVP, which served as a validation that he's ready to take over the huge void that Ramirez would leave as the latter played his final game in the grand old lea gue. 'Sabi ko sa kanya before the game, siya na papalit kay (As I told him before the game, he will replace) Louie,' Perpetual coach Sammy Acaylar, who was also awarded Coach of the Year, said. It was a dominating performance for the Las Piñas-based spikers, who kept their composure when the Generals threatened to steal a set in the third. 'Sabi ko sa team ko, 'wag natin bigyan pa ng isang set baka tumaas morale nila. Tayo naman pababa ng pababa (I told my team not to give one more set as it will increase their morale and ours will go down),' Acaylar said. Earlier, College of St. Benilde's Cloanne Mondoñedo was named women's MVP as well as Best Setter. Other awardees were San Beda's Angel Habacon (Rookie of the Year and Best First Outside Spiker); Letran's Lara Mae Silva (Best Libero) and Gia Maquilang (Freshman of the Year); Lyceum of the Philippines' Janeth Tulang (Best Opposite Spiker) and Hiromi Osada (Best First Middle Blocker); and Mapua's Alyanna Ong (Best Second Middle Blocker) and Roxie dela Cru z (Best Second Outside Spiker). Source: Philippines News Agency