Extension of Temporary Suspension on Cross-Border Activities

With the consent of His Majesty Sultan Haji Hassanal Bolkiah Mu'izzaddin Waddaulah ibni Al-Marhum Sultan Haji Omar 'Ali Saifuddien Sa'adul Khairi Waddien, Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan of Brunei Darussalam, and in reference to a Media Release issued by the Prime Minister's Office on the "Extension of Temporary Suspension On Cross-Border Activities and Temporary Suspension on Travelling To and From Five Countries of the Indian Subcontinent" dated 31st of May 2021, the Prime Minister's Office would to like to inform on the temporary suspension on cross-border activities is extended by two weeks, from the 16th to 30th of June 2021, for entry of foreign nationals via land and sea ports, including transits through Brunei Darussalam, except for entry and transit travels that have been granted approval by the Government of Brunei Darussalam;

Entry and transits through Brunei Darussalam may only be considered for transit vehicles with Transit Permits that are issued by the Government of Brunei Darussalam, provided that the travellers have attained endorsement from their local authorities for their travels, and will be subject to existing entry conditions and procedures, for the following purposes of Official Government travels; Students who are required to attend school; Emergency services such as ambulances, police and military; and Vaccinated foreign-registered transport operators with Cross-Country Permits issued by the Government of Brunei Darussalam for import deliveries of essential goods.

Temporary suspension on the collection and delivery of private goods at checkpoints handled by runners registered in Brunei Darussalam; and Temporary suspension on commuters via land and sea for the purpose of work.

Temporary suspension on travelling to and from five countries from the Indian Subcontinent, namely the Republic of India, the Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal, the Democratic Socialist of Sri Lanka, the Islamic Republic of Pakistan and the People's Republic of Bangladesh, is also extended for two weeks from the 16th to 30th of June 2021 for entry travels of all foreign nationals departing from or through any airport in the Indian subcontinent.

However, diplomatic passport holders and members of the armed forces working in Brunei Darussalam are allowed to enter the country, in accordance with the Ministry of Health's Standard Operating Procedures, SOPs. Transits through Brunei Darussalam for all foreign nationals departing from the Indian subcontinent and exit-country travels from Brunei Darussalam to the Indian subcontinent for any reason or business matters.

However, diplomatic passport holders and members of the armed forces working in Brunei Darussalam are allowed to exit the country, as well as foreign nationals who hold an employment or dependent's pass which has been revoked/cancelled OR the holders of the "Special Authorisation Work Pass" or "Professional Visit Visa" who worked temporarily in Brunei Darussalam and will be returning to their respective countries permanently. Temporary suspension also applies to foreign nationals who have been granted pre-approvals to enter Brunei Darussalam from the Indian subcontinent via pre- authorised flights, which have therefore been suspended. The conditions for the consideration of entry and exit travel mentioned above are subject to review by the Cross-Border Affairs Steering Committee from time to time.

For further information and details, visit 'www.pmo.gov.bn/travelportal'.

Source: Radio Television Brunei