Considerations for Essential Travel Is Allowed

By the consent of His Majesty Sultan Haji Hassanal Bolkiah Mu'izzaddin Waddaulah ibni Al-Marhum Sultan Haji Omar 'Ali Saifuddien Sa'adul Khairi Waddien, Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan of Brunei Darussalam and based on the Ministry of Health's risk assessment on the COVID-19 pandemic regionally and globally from time to time, the Minister Of Home Affairs stated that, the COVID-19 Steering Committee informed that the considerations for essential travel entry into Brunei Darussalam from The Republic of India and Four Countries in the Indian Subcontinent and the Republic of Indonesia are now allowed, effective from Monday, 1st of November 2021.

The Entry and exit-country travel approvals for foreign nationals travelling to and from five countries of the Indian Subcontinent, namely the Republic of India; the Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal, the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, the Islamic Republic of Pakistan and the People's Republic of Bangladesh is for:

Entry travels of all foreign nationals departing from or through any airport in the Indian Subcontinent.

Entry travel approval for foreign nationals departing from any airport in the Republic of Indonesia via direct or transit flights. Foreign nationals who have been granted pre-approval to enter Brunei Darussalam from the above-mentioned countries and were then suspended due to previous announcements are required to re-submit their entry travel applications prior to entry into Brunei Darussalam. Essential travellers referred to in this statement are for holders of a valid Work Pass or had been issued a Foreign Worker License by the Department of Labour as well as holders of Business and Professional Visit Visas supported by the Ministry or Authority regulating their respective sectors.

The conditions for the consideration of entry and exit travels mentioned above are subject to review by the COVID-19 Steering Committee and Cross-Border Affairs Task Force from time to time as well as in accordance with the Ministry of Health's Standard Operating Procedures, SOPs. For further information, visit or contact the travel hotline 120 during working hours or via e-mail at

Source: Radio Television Brunei