25th ASEAN Transport Ministers Meeting and Associated Dialogue Partner Meetings

Two important documents were signed during the 25th ASEAN Transport Ministers Meeting, 25th ATM which was held at the Hanoi, Viet nam. The meeting which was followed by ASEAN Associated Dialogue Partner Meetings for two days, was also attended by Yang Berhormat Dato Seri Setia Awang Abdul Mutalib bin Pehin Orang Kaya Seri Setia Dato Paduka Haji Mohd Yusof, Minister of Transport and Infocommunications. Amongst the highlights of the meeting was the ATM endorsed the proposal to develop a Road Safety Principles document by 2020.

The annual ATM meeting gathers all ASEAN Member States to discuss on the progress implementation of the projects and initiatives under ASEAN transport cooperation and to further enhance this cooperation between ASEAN Member States and Dialogue Partners, towards an efficient, safe and sustainable transport system. The Ministers of Transport of ASEAN also held meetings with the Associated Dialogue Partners from China, Japan and Republic of Korea. The 25th ATM was preceded by the 48th ASEAN Senior Transport Officials Meeting, 48th STOM.

The main highlights of the meeting were the signing of two key documents namely "The Protocol to Implement Eleventh Package of Commitments on Air Transport Services under ASEAN Framework Agreement on Services" aimed at enhancing cooperation to improve efficiency, competitiveness and supply of services, and liberalise further the air transport services among ASEAN Member States. While, "The Protocol 3 on the Expansion of Fifth Freedom Traffic Rights Between Contracting Parties of the ASEAN China Air Transport Agreement AC- ATA" is to further enhance air connectivity between ASEAN and China. The 25th ATM also followed with the handing over of the ATM chairmanship to Brunei Darussalam where Brunei will be hosting the 26th ATM and Associated Dialogue Partner Meetings in 2020. Yang Berhormat Dato Seri Setia Awang Abdul Mutalib also paid a courtesy call on His Excellency Nguyen Van the, Minister of Transport of Viet Nam in his capacity as the Chairman of the 25th ATM.

Source: Radio Television Brunei